Massage Therapy in Canada

Massage therapy is regulated by the individual provinces and territories, so standards and practices vary from province to province. Massage Therapy is a regulated health profession in four Canadian provinces, with other provinces at various points along the path towards self-regulation. 

Massage therapy is a regulated health profession in only four Canadian provinces:

Effective April 2009, regulated health professions, including Massage Therapy, have reciprocity across regulated provinces. If you are in a regulated province, you can check the directories for that province's college of massage therapy. If someone is registered in good standing in one province, they can easily practice in another regulated province by completing a Jurisprudence Examination. If someone is moving to a regulated province from either an unregulated province or another country, each of the above Colleges has policies and procedures in place.

In other Canadian provinces, the profession of massage therapy is not regulated by the provincial government; however, in each jurisdiction, the professional association or associations for massage therapy have established standards of practice, and if you are relocating to one of those provinces, these are the standards you should use as a guideline.  

In an unregulated province, in order to ensure that massage therapy treatments are being provided by individuals who are properly trained, ensure that your massage therapist is a member in good standing of one of the following organizations:

Massage Therapist Association of Alberta (MTAA)

Massage Therapist Association of Saskatchewan (MTAS)

Massage Therapy Association of Manitoba Inc. (MTAM)

Massage Therapists' Association of Nova Scotia (MTANS)

Prince Edward Island Massage Therapy Association (PEIMTA)

New Brunswick Massotherapy Association (NBMA)

Association of New Brunswick Massage Therapists (ANBMT)

Newfoundland Labrador Massage Therapists' Association(NLMTA)

Registered Massage Therapists' Association of British Columbia (RMTBC)

Northwest Territories Massage Therapists' Association (NWTMTA)